How not to behave on the internet

06Apr09

Derailing for Dummies.

Anyone who spends more than thirty seconds reading comment sections on websites that aren’t devoted entirely to white straight able-bodied cisgender males will be familiar with tactics like these.

But it’s not just for the universally privileged. I consider myself part of some marginalised groups (for example, women), and I read a lot of sites that provide safe spaces for them. But I also read sites that provide safe spaces for marginalised groups to which I do not belong (for example, women of colour). And sometimes I need a good kick up the backside to remind me of my own privilege in these spaces. I’m certain I’m not alone.

So read Derailing for Dummies. Laugh. And take it on board.

No Responses Yet to “How not to behave on the internet”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

